Minutes of the Initial Governing Body of the Libertarian Party of Maryland - Saturday, 3 March 2007

The Initial Governing Body of the Libertarian Party of Maryland met at *Squires Restaurant* in Dundalk, Maryland. The meeting was called to order at 5:35 pm by chairman David Sten. Of the 25 members, 14 were present plus 8 proxies were presented. David Sten, Steven Boone, Robert Glaser, Michael Linder, Robert Johnston III, Anthony Spezio, and David Johnston were nominated as officers; all were subsequently elected by a voice vote. The Libertarian Party of Maryland's Constitution as submitted to the Board of Elections (revision date 24 July 2004) was approved by a voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 5:38 pm.

Minutes of the Central Committee of the Libertarian Party of Maryland - Saturday, 3 March 2007

Opening: The Libertarian State Central Committee of Maryland met at *Squires Restaurant* in Dundalk, Maryland. The meeting was called to order at 5:38 pm by chairman Dave Sten.

Attendance: the Credentials Committee consisted of: Robert Glaser; Robert Johnston III; and Nick Sarwark. It validated that upon opening 15 Central Committee members were in attendance for the meeting. One proxy was represented. The Central Committee rolls consist of 35 members. By the end of the meeting, 17 members were in attendance out of 37, with one proxy.

Minutes: The minutes of the 23 July 2006 Central Committee meeting were accepted as submitted.

Treasurer's report: The Treasurer's report was accepted as submitted.

Membership report: Bob Johnston reported that renewal notices for February and March have not yet gone out; we have 71 current members as of today. As of a month ago, there were approximately 100 members.

Chair's Report: The party has been recertified by the Board of Elections. We submitted 14,644 signatures, of which approximately 3000 were from volunteers. The remainder were from paid petitioner Robert Lynch, and petitioners paid for by funds raised through Scott Kohlhaas. 11,083 were declared valid; we are certified through 31 December 2010. Now we are in a registration drive: the goal is to reach a 1% state level by the end of 2010 (approx 32,000). As of 31 January, 4726 (0.15%) were registered Libertarian. We are gaining approximately 100 registrations per month. Paid registrations typically cost \$4 each. In Annapolis, there is legislation in process for multi party nomination (SB545); and to permit petitioning to initiate a state constitutional referendum (SB487); hearings for both are on 8 March. We need to look at how to handle future elections and candidate recruitment.

Officer Elections: The following were nominated as officers: David Sten, Steven Boone, Robert Glaser, Michael Linder, Robert Johnston III, Anthony Spezio, Lorenzo Gaztañaga, Charles Tavik, and Nicholas Sarwark. Election was by written ballot. Just prior to meeting adjournment, the winners as announced by Dean Ahmad and Derek Pomery were: David Sten, Steven Boone, Robert Glaser, Michael Linder, Robert Johnston III, Charles Tavik, and Nicholas Sarwark. [After adjournment, Dean Ahmad and Derek Pomery found that the stated tally was incorrect and that the proper winners are: David Sten, Steven Boone, Robert Glaser, Michael Linder, Robert Johnston III, Anthony Spezio, and Nicholas Sarwark.]

Program Committee's Report: the Program Committee recommended approval of the following proposed changes to the State Program:

1. Append a new bullet to the *Education* section: "Discouraging government interference and control with home schooling."

Vote: favor=9, oppose=6, motion PASSES.

2. Delete "such things as" in the first bullet under Job and Wealth Creation without Corporate Welfare.

Vote: motion PASSES on a unanimous voice vote.

3. Append a new paragraph to the *Land Use, Transportation, and the Environment* section: "Prevent pollution and increase environmental awareness by making polluters pay for their irresponsibility by facing strict civil liability. Promote free market environmentalism to solve problems."

Vote: favor=13, oppose=2, motion PASSES.

Proposed Constitutional Amendment: Robert Glaser proposed that in Article V, section 7, A, 3, the second sentence be replaced with the following: "The committee will meet at least 7 days and not more than 90 days before the first day of the annual convention." This refers to the Program Committee; the numbers are presently 40 and 72. The proposal PASSED on a unanimous voice vote.

Announcements: the Central Committee thanked Dave Sten for Chair duties, Bob Johnston for a successful ballot access drive, and Robert Glaser for various duties.

Pause: The Committee recessed at 6:53 pm and resumed at 7:23 pm. The results of the election of officers were announced.

Adjournment: the Central Committee meeting adjourned at 7:25 pm.