Minutes of the Central Committee of the Libertarian Party of Maryland – Saturday, 29 April 2017

Opening: The Libertarian State Central Committee of Maryland met at *Red Hot & Blue* in Laurel, Maryland. The meeting was called to order at 4:36 pm by chairman Bob Johnston.

Attendance: the Credentials Committee consisted of: Robert Glaser; Stuart Simms; and Tony Spezio. It validated that 33 Central Committee members were in attendance for the meeting. Two proxies were represented. The Central Committee rolls consist of 47 members.

Minutes: The minutes of the 30 July 2016 Central Committee meeting were accepted as submitted.

Treasurer's report: was accepted as submitted by Michael Linder.

Chair's Report: Bob Johnston reports that we have 136 members. We have 20,162 registered voters as of 3/31/2017, and are a little over halfway to the 1% threshold. The LP now has more legitimacy than we've had before, great time to be part of it. Would like to run a full slate of Congressional candidates, state Senate too; looking for candidates.

Vice-Chair's Report: We returned to the legislature, was a difficult year as everyone is gearing up for the partisan governor's race. Worked very hard on a number of bills. Tim Sutton worked on bail reform (monetary bail), beat the bail industry's bill working with other partners. Gun legislation: gun free zones on college campuses. Ballot access bill: formed a coalition to pass the bill we've sought for the past three years (10,000 registrations instead of 1%); got endorsements; R/D's still see no reason to help us, but was close. Second year in a row worked on police rights (open government) bill; pared away into nothing, might get summer study. Testified on marijuana legalization bills. Lot of other bills worked on.

Jim Lark, LNC Regional rep: It is only a group of friends that would entice him to drive through DC traffic to get here. Took questions on LNC activities, some electoral successes. Thanks Scott Spencer for his LNC work.

Program Committee's report: The committee recommended no changes to the State Program.

Constitutional Amendment: (to be voted up or down) Replace section V4B with the following:

B. Election of the Chairman and Executive Board: At the regular spring meeting of the State Central Committee, a separate vote shall be held for the Chairman and the remaining members of the Executive Board. The vote for the Chairman shall be held first. Nominations for Chairman and Executive Board membership can be made by any Central Committee member, including the person seeking the office. The Chairman and members of the Executive Board shall be elected to one year terms. Votes shall be cast by the Transferable Ballot Method of Proportional Representation as shall be described in the bylaws. The Executive Board shall take office simultaneously and immediately at the conclusion of the Central Committee meeting, and assign offices among themselves as required by Section 4-A of Article V. If the period of nomination for Executive Board members has closed, and the number of candidates is equal to or lesser than the number of vacancies, all candidates may be elected as a slate by majority vote, with two-thirds approval of the assembly.

The Investigating Committee for this proposal is Chelsey Snyder, Bob Johnston, Stuart Simms, Dean Ahmad, and Robert Glaser; it unanimously recommends a vote FOR the amendment.

Vote: unanimous FOR on a voice vote, passes.

Proposed Bylaw: The Constitutional Investigating Committee for the approved amendment proposes the following bylaw to complete the amendment's requirement:

Transferable Ballot Method of Proportional Representation

```
N offices; C candidates; B ballots: each ballot is a list of candidate names in order
of preference with no minimum or maximum number. The voting algorithm is as follows:
BALLOT \leq = 0
Repeat
  THRESHOLD = B * N/(N + 1)
  BALLOT <== BALLOT + 1
  COUNT <== 0
  CANDIDATE VOTE TOTALS <== 0 (C values)
  Repeat
     COUNT <== COUNT + 1
     Select highest unelected not eliminated choice on each ballot (can be none)
     Add selection on each ballot to CANDIDATE VOTE TOTALS
     For each candidate, If (CANDIDATE_VOTE_TOTAL > THRESHOLD)
        Then candidate is elected
     Until (Offices all filled) OR (COUNT == N)
  If (Offices not all filled) Then
     If at least one candidate does not withdraw
        Then candidate (or candidates if equal) with lowest CANDIDATE VOTE TOTAL eliminated
  N <== remaining offices
  C <== remaining candidates
  Until (Offices all filled)
Unresolved ties are handled by coin toss.
The above algorithm takes precedence, however the following textual description is
provided as an explanation:
The Threshold for election into office is the number of total ballots cast (B) times
the number of offices being filled (N) all divided by the number of offices plus one.
The First Ballot:
All those eligible to vote shall cast their ballot as a list of desired candidates,
starting with the most preferred. NOTA may be included.
Ballot 1, Count 1:
The highest unelected and not eliminated candidate on each ballot shall be identified
and given one count for each appearance. If the count for any candidate at the end of
the totaling is above the threshold, then that candidate is elected. No candidates
need be elected in this count.
Ballot 1, Count N:
Each subsequent count shall be performed in the same manner, adding to the candidate
totals, until all offices are filled or until the count number reaches N (the number of
offices being filled).
Subsequent Ballots:
At the end of each ballot (given all offices are not filled) one candidate must
withdraw. If no candidate wishes to withdraw, the candidate with the lowest vote total
in Count N shall be eliminated from the candidate list. A new Threshold is calculated
at the end of each ballot using the number of remaining offices (Nr) and the number of
ballots cast in the same way as initially. No candidate need be elected in a ballot,
so Nr may equal N. The subsequent ballots shall be performed the same as the first,
starting with zero candidate totals using the new Threshold and performing counts up to
Count Nr. This process shall be repeated until all offices are filled or some remain
vacant. Vacancies can occur when either all candidates have been eliminated and
therefore further ballots cannot be constructed, or NOTA is elected.
Should the election process result in one or more vacancies, the body may immediately
hold another election, nominating candidates who were not defeated in the prior
```

election. Otherwise, Article V, Section 4D applies. Vote: passed on a voice vote.

Nominations for Public Office:

Shawn Quinn for Governor/Christina Smith for Lt. Governor; nominated on a voice vote.

Joseph Sandy for state delegate 42B (Baltimore county (JDforliberty.com); nominated unanimously on a voice vote.

Thomas Parks for state delegate 35B; nominated unanimously on a voice vote.

Christopher Wallace for state senate 30; nominated unanimously on a voice vote.

Officer Elections: Robert S. Johnston III was nominated for Chairman; elected unanimously on a voice vote. The following were nominated as officers: Robert Glaser, Michael Linder, Stuart Simms, Shawn Quinn, Chelsey Snyder, Scott Spencer. As there were no more than six nominations and there were no objections, the nominations were voted upon as a slate; a unanimous voice vote approved the slate.

Announcements: July 29 picnic at the Stens'; Robert Glaser has license plate applications on hand and MdLP caps for sale; Jim Lark offers to assist with college events (JWLark@virginia.edu); Eric Blitz promotes Young Libertarians of Maryland.

Adjournment: the meeting adjourned at 6:19 pm.

--Robert E. Glaser