## Minutes of the Central Committee of the Libertarian Party of Maryland — Saturday, 9 April 2022

**Opening**: The Libertarian State Central Committee of Maryland met at *Beefalo Bob's Reflections Catering Hall* in Curtis Bay, Maryland. The meeting was called to order at 9:41 am by chairman Eric Blitz.

**Attendance**: the Credentials Committee consisted of: Robert Glaser; Alex Schleigel; and Doug Stanley. It validated that 44 Central Committee members were in attendance for the meeting. 14 proxies were represented. The Central Committee rolls consist of 80 members. (attendance identification deleted from audio recording.)

**The agenda:** was agreed upon unanimously.

**Minutes**: The minutes of the 27 June (handout corrected to June month and amended to approve the 17 April meeting), and 18 October 2021 Central Committee meetings were accepted as submitted.

National Delegate Election: Ahmad, Dean; Blitz, Eric; Burnett, Doug; Cole, Nathan; Cook, James; Dassing, Philip; Downs, Michael; Fishman, Daniel; Fochler, Edward; Gearhart, Scott; Holmes, Tracy; Johnson, Mitchell; Kotteman, Lex; Lerol, Travis; Logansmith, Christiana; Logansmith, Stephen; Manly, Paul; McCord, Ryan; Miller, Timothy; Quinn, Shawn; Russell, Ryan; Schlegel, Alexander; Selenski, Brett; and Whitehead, William were nominated for 19 spots. Ahmad, Dean; Blitz, Eric; Dassing, Philip; Schlegel, Alexander; Downs, Michael; Whitehead, William; Miller, Timothy; Selenski, Brett; Cook, James; Cole, Nathan; Lerol, Travis; Johnson, Mitchell; Manly, Paul; Fishman, Daniel; Logansmith, Christiana; Russell, Ryan; Gearhart, Scott; Burnett, Doug; and Kotteman, Lex were elected. Ed Fochler, Stephen Logansmith, Ryan McCord, Shawn Quinn, Stu Simms, and Bob Johnston were elected as alternate delegates. It was approved that any CC member as of today who notifies the Chair to be added to the alternate list prior to its submission, subject to a maximum of 50, be designated as alternate delegates.

**Chair's Report**: Eric Blitz provided his report in the convention binder.

Treasurer's report: was submitted by Bob Johnston.

Platform: The Platform Committee recommends the following changes:

A. Add a new section 3.9: "Whenever any form of government becomes destructive of individual liberty, it is the right of the people to alter, abolish, or withdraw from it, and to agree to such new governance, or none, as to them shall seem most likely to protect their liberty." Vote Passes.

B. Replace section 3.4 Policing and Drugs with "Redirect law enforcement towards crimes against persons and property, rather than victimless crimes. End pre-conviction asset forfeiture. End qualified immunity for police officer misconduct. End the drug war. Promote medical treatment, rather than prison sentences for substance use disorder. Legalize and deregulate all drugs, including natural plants and medicines, such as cannabis and entheogens." Vote Passes unanimously.

C: Replace section 3.6 Maryland National Guard with "The Maryland National Guard should not be deployed for combat outside the state unless there has been a congressional declaration of war." Vote Passes.

## **Constitutional Amendment Proposal:**

Motion made by Robert Glaser to amend V7c: change "Notice of this meeting shall state the time and place of the meeting and shall be mailed to all members of the State Central Committee at least ten days prior to the meeting, addressed to the residence of each member." to "Notice of this meeting shall state the time and place of the meeting and shall be mailed or emailed to members of the State Central Committee at least ten days prior to the meeting, addressed to the postal address or email address of each member on file." (Mimimicking V6c.) The vote passes unanimously on a voice vote. The Investigating Committee is Eric Blitz, Tim Miller, Brian Kunkoski, Bob Johnston, Krystal Woodworth.

**Bylaws change:** Motion made by Robert Glaser to amend the Bylaws as follows. Append to Bylaw on Organizational Memory 1: "who are current General or Pledge Members."; passed unanimously on a voice vote. (1. A copy of the minutes of each meeting of the Executive Board and the State Central Committee will be sent to all past Chairmen.)

(Recess 12:59 pm. Resume 2:14 pm.)

**Officer Elections**: Eric Blitz was nominated and elected over NOTA for Chairman. The following were nominated as officers: Sherri Drummond, Robert Johnston III, Alexander Schlegel, Phil Dassing, Tim Miller, and David Dull. It was agreed to vote by acclamation and all were elected.

**New Business:** David Dull proposes to rename the newsletter to the *Glaser Gazette*.

**Nominations for Public Office:** Robert Gemmill for state Senate district 43; approved unanimously. Andres Garcia for US House district 8; approved unanimously. Daniel Thibeault for US House district 1; approved unanimously.

**Adjournment**: the meeting adjourned at 2:56 pm.

**Chase Award:** Dean Ahmad described the history of the Samuel Chase Award. Bob Johnston presented this year's award to Krystal Woodworth.